This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Hello Stranger


  1. 1.
    Smiling in the Night
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    The Flood
  4. 4.
    Hard Line
  5. 5.
    Little Old Me
Hello Stranger was formed in a dusty Los Angeles rehearsal studio in 2015, but the origins of the group date back more than a decade.
Sam Deffenbaugh (Singer/Guitarist) spent his childhood moving across the country. During this time, he wrote songs to capture these diverse political and cultural experiences. The result was an eclectic body of work influenced by 90’s alternative, folk, punk, and even classical.
In 2015 Deffenbaugh moved to Los Angeles and met accomplished drummer, Daniel Rodriguez. They were soon joined by the spectacular jazz-trained musician, Doug Slohm, on bass. Finally, the group was completed when Alex Monfort joined bringing his experience as a prodigious blues guitarist to the fold.
Hello Stranger combines Deffenbaugh’s expansive songwriting with Rodriguez's thunderous drumming, Slohm's expressive grooves, and Monfort’s soulful leads. Their sound is rooted in rock history, but is also inventive, wide-ranging, and modern.
Hello Stranger released their debut record, Long Division, in January 2018, and the response was overwhelming. In the first week alone, the album received 200k+ downloads and streams.
The band is currently hard at work supporting Long Division and working on a follow up album.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Hello Stranger now.

Listen to Hello Stranger in full in the Spotify app