Minute Taker


  1. 1.
    The Darkest Summer
  2. 2.
    Neon Lines - Walter Alienson,
  3. 3.
    Running up That Hill (A Deal with God)
  4. 4.
    Under the Ivy
  5. 5.
    The Darkest Summer - piano version
British singer-songwriter/producer Ben McGarvey, known as Minute Taker, makes what NOTION describes as "beautiful electronic-orientated pop songs" with "haunting melodies, electronic beats & soulful singing" (TIME OUT).
From his small home studio on the Pennine moors he uses vocals, piano, synths & a whole lot of imagination to craft his emotive & nostalgic songs. Along with releasing 2 critically acclaimed albums, several EPs & official remixes for Yazoo & Erasure, he’s also gained a reputation for his inventive cover versions of classic songs by some of his favourite artists including Kate Bush, Eurythmics, Madonna, Depeche Mode, Björk, Tori Amos & Pet Shop Boys.
His upcoming 80s-inspired album 'WOLF HOURS' is preceded by the singles 'Hearts', 'Not Afraid' & 'The Darkest Summer', each with a music video inspired by retro movie dream sequences, set at different points in time.
'Neon Lines' a brand new song for 2021 (via 1981) is a collaboration with Costa Rican artist Walter Alienson. After meeting in an online synthwave group, the pair joined forces remotely to create this irresistibly nostalgic synth-pop song that explores a sense of disconnection from the modern world & a yearning for the comfort & simplicity of the past. Furthermore, the song celebrates how retrowave music brings like-minded people from all over the world together in their shared love of all things 80s... “we dream tonight in neon lines”.
Find out more at minutetaker.net


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Listen to Minute Taker now.

Listen to Minute Taker in full in the Spotify app