Popular releases


Singles and EPs

Featuring Codeseven

Fans also like


1,787 monthly listeners

First formed as a death metal act, Codeseven's first and major influences comprised bands such as Napalm Death and Fear Factory. However, the Winston-Salem crew rapidly decided to solidly evolve into a pure new-metal-style group. Constituted in the mid-'90s by brothers James (guitar), John (bass), and Matt (drums), in addition to Eric (guitar), Codeseven counts on the work of two vocalists, Big Dave Owen and Jeff Jenkins. Providing them with the substantive differences in terms of style, both Owen and Jenkins also secured the band an even better sound distinction. Performing regularly all across the North Carolina area, Codeseven also succeeded in gaining a considerable fan legion. While still in high school, the boys independently released a homemade demo. It was eventually released by local indie Huel Records, setting up Codeseven for an attack on the music mainstream. In 1998, the quintet recorded its first proper album, A Sense of Coalition. This debut album solidified their acclaim beyond their region and even reaching the top of several college radio charts. Entering a long-awaited tour not long after, Codeseven performed all across the East Coast, receiving continuous recognition. Division of Labor, the group's second disc (third overall), hit record stores in 1999, with production credits divided halfway between the band and Kurt Ballou. Owen also left Codeseven during this time. Codeseven went ahead and toured the U.S. with Boy Sets Fire, Saves the Day, and Avail, but spent time writing songs for their fourth studio effort. The Rescue, which was produced by Alex Newport (At the Drive-In, Will Haven, The Melvins), appeared in spring 2002. Dancing Echoes/Dead Sounds was released on Equal Vision Records in 2004, though by the end of the following year the band had gone on an indefinite hiatus due to financial issues. ~ Mario Mesquita Borges, Rovi