This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Modern Studies


  1. 1.
    Get Back Down
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    Mud and Flame
  4. 4.
    Let Idle Hands
  5. 5.
    Phosphene Dream
‘Welcome Strangers’ is the second record by feral pop outliers Modern Studies, out on 18th May 2018 on Fire Records.
<br><br>Elegiac and haunted, life-giving and triumphant, this beguiling return digs deep into landscapes both real and imagined, internal and external, in a work that might perhaps best be described as “kosmiche choral” or, if we’re pushing it “arts-und-crafts-werk”. Or, put simply, glorious pop music.
It is an elemental and often spectral world of contrasting tones and hues that is found within ‘Welcome Strangers’, one whose lyrical vocabulary is of loss, light, air, sun, growth; of spires, seeds and phosphene dreams. Here is the Britain of visionaries such as Kate Bush, Broadcast or PJ Harvey, a nation of dark magic, conflict, celebration and confusion, all at the same time.
Witness the incandescent chamber-pop of ‘Get Back Down’: underpinned by complex jazz rhythms, and string and brass flourishes, it manages to be both understated and epic as it explores a similar sonic terrain to Wild Beasts. Meanwhile on ‘Phosphene Dream’ the honeyed harmonies of Emily Scott and Rob St. John wrap themselves around each other like Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazelwood had they holidayed in draughty Glasgow tenements. Or perhaps – as on ‘Disco’ – they come closer to Kylie and Nick Cave.
‘Welcome Strangers’. Welcome all.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Modern Studies now.

Listen to Modern Studies in full in the Spotify app