This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

The Dutch


  1. 1.
    This Is Welfare
  2. 2.
    Out of Your Mind
  3. 3.
    This Is Welfare - Radio Edit
  4. 4.
    Sunday Afternoon (Hello Sunshine)
  5. 5.
With a big jump, the four heroes of this story leaped from the eighties to 2016, leaving once upon a time hit singles such as This Is Welfare and Another Sunny Day to the past and writing new exciting songs that relate to the present - just like they used to do.
Their latest album is called "Werkman", in co-operation with the Groninger Museum.
Between 1982 and 1985, The Dutch released three albums: Working In Los Alamos, This Is Welfare and Under The Surface. The band toured festivals and venues, building a fan base that included progressive radio DJs of the time.
The Dutch broke up in 1986, only to reassemble in Siobhan, together with singer P’etra. Siobhan released one cd, Songs From The Well, in 1989.
In 2014, The Dutch reassembled for a one-off show in the Amsterdam Paradiso that proved to be not so one-off after all. They started co-writing new sounds, songs and words, and recorded them in several studios in the Netherlands. The result is Four. A series of songs like a motley crew of colours and themes, modern and indie, and nevertheless reminiscent of their social engagement in the eighties.
"Werkman", the band's fifth, is a concept album dedicated to De Ploeg, the artist circle from Groningen. It features 6 new songs, of which 'So Long H.N. Werkman' stands out as a tribute to the famous artist from Groningen. The music video accompanying the song is permanently on show in the Groninger Museum.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to The Dutch now.

Listen to The Dutch in full in the Spotify app