This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Open City


  1. 1.
    Hell Hath No Fury
  2. 2.
    Whose God?
  3. 3.
    Black Veils
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
    For Shame
Open City is a project embedded with histories — people, places, sounds, scenes.
Bringing together collective decades of experience in East Coast punk and DIY communities, specifically ones known for prying open the melodic sides of punk rock, hardcore and post-punk, the project is: singer and lyricist Rachel Rubino (Bridge And Tunnel, Worriers), bassist Andy Nelson (Paint It Black, Ceremony, Dark Blue), guitarist Dan Yemin (Paint It Black, Lifetime, Kid Dynamite, Armalite), and drummer Chris Wilson (Ted Leo and the Pharmacists, Titus Andronicus).
A shared ideology is central to Open City. The project grew out of a mutual desire for a band that rehearsed continuously, coupled with an urgent need for something faster and more aggressive than some of its members had done before; one inspired by 90s basements and commitment to DIY as an ongoing process.
“There's an inherent anger at the systems of oppression and abuse that constantly diminish and destroy the efforts of folks who are fighting for a better world,” Rubino says. “There's a deep disappointment for a lack of support and care from individuals in my life and in my community who I expected more from. There's a heavy dose of self-analysis, in a range from self care to self-loathing. Finding hope in strange places. Mourning loss along a timeline you cannot control. Trying to understand it. Admitting that I can't. It exists in that tense place where frustration is fighting apathy.”
- Liz Pelly


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Open City now.

Listen to Open City in full in the Spotify app