This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.



  1. 1.
    Rescue me
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    Leaving Look
  4. 4.
    Everything Has Gone
  5. 5.
    Never Let You Down
Prettymess formed in 2003 by John Baxter and Paul Inglis, both formerly of Melbourne band Alcotomic. Much of 2002 was spent recording new music by Baxter and Inglis, which included collaborations with Andy Strachan (The Living End), Michael Snowball (Groundswell), Kerrie Hickin (Holocene) and Danny McDonald.

The quartet went on to sign a two album record deal with Australian Indie giant, Shock Records after the song Tripping landed on their desk. Shortly afterwards they signed with national booking agent, Premier Artists.

Released March 5 2004, Surface Glow was the band’s debut EP. Mixed by Craig Lewis at Kaleidoscope Music in Adelaide, it featured the critically acclaimed single, Tripping. The EP entered the AIR top 20 and stayed for a number of weeks while the band toured nationally with The Fauves, Epicure and Killing Heidi.

After another two tours through Tasmania and Victoria, the 11 track debut album Greyscale Broadcast was released February 21 2005 with Rescue Me as the lead single. Described as “superior pop rock, catchy and classic” by JB HIFI Magazine.

The remainder of 2005 was spent on the road, with a number of sold out shows with US band Switchfoot at the Forum Theatre and HiFi Bar, both in Melbourne. After another headline tour of Tasmania in April, the band closed out the year with their last ever live appearance, supporting MotorAce’s before a full house of over 900 people at the HiFi bar on December 23 2005.

More at:


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Related Artists

Listen to Prettymess now.

Listen to Prettymess in full in the Spotify app