Athletic Progression


Popular releases


Singles and EPs

Featuring Athletic Progression

Fans also like


149,109 monthly listeners

Athletic Progression — Jonas Cook (keyboard), Jonathan J. Ludvigsen (drums) and Justo Gambula (bass) — are one of the most electric, live Danish bands in recent years. Hailing from Aarhus, the country’s second biggest city, the three young Danes are openly influenced by artists such as Herbie Hancock, D’Angelo and Flying Lotus. Since making their debut in 2016, the band has gone from strength to strength. Their debut EP Dark Smoke was released through Super Bad Disco (DK) / HHV Records (DE) in January 2019. In 2020 they released their self-titled, debut album, which received 5* in Danish national newspaper, Politiken. In 2021, they are set to release their third project 'cloud high in dreams, but heavy in the air with Errol and Alex Rita’s burgeoning UK-based record label, Touching Bass; already responsible for cult, critically-acclaimed records from Demae, cktrl and Hiatus Kaiyote’s Clever Austin. It’s no surprise then that they’ve appeared on Danish national television, received airplay from the likes of Touching Bass (NTS Radio), Gilles Peterson (BBC Radio/Worldwide FM) and Jamie Cullum (BBC Radio), sold out multiple shows both at home and in Europe (supporting Moses Boyd and Alfa Mist) and also received three Danish Jazz award nominations (inc. Jazz Vocal Album Of The Year (for Dark Smoke), New Name Of The Year and Jonathan being put forward for Musician Of The Year).