Earning comparisons to Death Cab for Cutie and taking cues from atmospheric bands Explosions in the Sky and Mogwai, indie rock five-piece Pompeii surfaced from the Austin, TX, scene.

The lineup consists of Dean Stafford (vocals, guitar), Erik Johnson (guitar), Caitlin Bailey (cello), Rob Davidson (drums), and Shane Stevens (bass). At Pompeii's 2005 South by Southwest gig, Eyeball Records immediately offered them a deal, resulting in the debut album Assembly in October 2006. ~ Kenyon Hopkin, Rovi

Do you have the Spotify app?