This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Phourist & The Photons


  1. 1.
    Here's Some Moonlight for Your Day
  2. 2.
    We're All Born Screaming
  3. 3.
    Nov. 1st, Another Flesh Wound
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
    The Light Won't Lie to Me
“For me, songs are like a musical exorcism—they come out screaming and I interpret them later on,” says Nick Phourist, of the Louisville, Kentucky-based quartet Phourist & the Photons.
The band is known for its non-linear songcraft which includes winding musical passages, and adventurous arrangements flanking undeniable pop-rock hooks. Personnel includes Nick Phourist Hill, vocals, piano, guitar, songwriting; Justin Perez, bass, various other musical contributions; and Andrew Critchelow guitar, textures; and Scott Boice, drums, percussion.
Though he prefers to keep his artistic intentions close to his vest, Nick does reveal his thoughts surrounding the band’s name. “I like that it has a nerdy sci-fi vibe, and an old school ‘Buddy Holly & The Crickets’ thing to it. I also love a good alliteration,” he says.
Nick is optimistic about the future of Phourist and The Photons because the band has an upcoming tour booked for spring 2019, a new record written, and, finally, a stable lineup. On what has finally solidified band personnel Nick shares: “All the band members have the same Myers Briggs personality, INFP. We almost changed the name of the band to that!”
Paraphrased from a bio written by Lorne Berthem


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Related Artists

Listen to Phourist & The Photons now.

Listen to Phourist & The Photons in full in the Spotify app