Los Yonic's

The incredibly prolific los Yonic's formed in the '80s and have released an album nearly every year since.

The group, which includes leader Johnny Ayvar, Jose Manuel Zamacona (vocals, guitar), Mountain Martin (piano), Bruno Ayvar, Oscar Perez, Eduardo Corner (saxophone and flute), and Vincente Martinez (saxophone and flute) was formed in San Luis Pedro but relocated to Acapulco. The band has proven to be incredibly popular with Mexican immigrants in the American Southwest, especially Los Angeles, San Jose, Phoenix, and El Paso, where their brand of tropical/Cumbia music is often performed in local ballrooms. Los Yonic's mix tropical music with softer ballads, and the combination has earned them several hits over their long career, including "I Am," "Sad Words," and "White Roses." ~ Stacia Proefrock

Do you have the Spotify app?