This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Nap Eyes


  1. 1.
  2. 2.
    No Fear of Hellfire
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
    Click Clack
  5. 5.
    Dark Creedence
Formed in Halifax, Nova Scotia in the early 2010s, Nap Eyes combine the driving jangle of classic Flying Nun bands like the Clean, the arch lyricism of the Only Ones, and a scrappy Velvet Underground-like disregard for audio niceties.
Comprising songwriter/vocalist/guitarist Nigel Chapman, bassist Josh Salter, drummer Seamus Dalton, and lead guitarist Brad Loughead, the band debuted with a self-titled EP that came out in 2011. Though Dalton and Salter were both in the band Monomyth, and Loughead was a member of Each Other, Nap Eyes kept cranking out music, with two EPs (Tribal Thoughts and Four More Songs By) in 2012 and two 2013 releases (Joint Uppers & Other Favourites! and Dreaming Solo). They recorded fast, eschewing overdubs and getting a live and loose sound. Their first full-length was recorded in 2013 in Montreal by Mike Wright, who was also in Each Other with Loughead. Whine of the Mystic was first issued in 2014 in a limited run by Plastic Factory, then co-reissued in July of 2015 by You've Changed Records and Paradise of Bachelors. Once again employing their preferred studio method, they recorded their follow-up album, 2016's Thought Rock Fish Scale, entirely live in the studio over a period of four days. ~ Tim Sendra, Rovi



Related Artists

Listen to Nap Eyes now.

Listen to Nap Eyes in full in the Spotify app