This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Rita Coolidge


  1. 1.
    We're All Alone
  2. 2.
    (Your Love Has Lifted Me) Higher And Higher
  3. 3.
    All Time High
  4. 4.
    I'd Rather Leave While I'm In Love
  5. 5.
    Loving Arms - Kris Kristofferson,
Rita Coolidge is back with Safe in the Arms of Time, her 18th solo album and a reaffirmation of her indomitable spirit and unquenchable creative thirst.
“This is the best record I’ve ever done,” Rita declares. Safe in the Arms of Time marks Rita’s triumphant return to the songwriting that gave the world her shimmering (and still uncredited) “piano coda” to Derek & the Dominoes’ “Layla.” Three of the album’s 12 songs were co-written by Rita and draw inspiration from her personal journey. “The idea was making an album that had the same appeal of my early records—to make a roots record about my own roots,” Rita says. Rita and producer Ross Hogarth gathered an all-star lineup of the era’s top musicians—guitarist Dave Grissom, bassist Bob Glaub, John “J.T.” Thomas on keyboards and drummer Brian Macleod—at L.A.’s famed Sunset Sound. Rita traveled to Nashville and the studio of Keb’ Mo’ to write, with singer-songwriter Jill Colucci, two of the album’s most intimate songs, “Walking on Water” and “Naked All Night.” Safe in the Arms of Time reunited Rita with Graham Nash, her romantic and creative confidant during Nash’s Crosby, Stills & Nash days. Nash and drummer Russ Kunkel had written “Doing Fine Without You” and offered it to Rita. Two years later, the song is among the album’s standouts. Now, with Safe in the Arms of Time, Rita’s odyssey from the hills of rural Tennessee to the recording studios of Los Angeles and concert stages around the world has come full circle.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Rita Coolidge now.

Listen to Rita Coolidge in full in the Spotify app