This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Grain Thief


  1. 1.
    Colorado Freeze
  2. 2.
    Too Much Talking
  3. 3.
    Pretty Darn High
  4. 4.
    Georgia Avenue
  5. 5.
    The Death of Kevin McKnight
Grain Thief is a 5-piece americana string band from Boston MA. The group comprises Patrick Mulroy (guitar, vocals), Zach Meyer (mandolin, vocals), Michael Harmon (bass, vocals), Tom Farrell (lead guitar), and Alex Barstow (fiddle).
Their debut EP Animal was released in November of 2015, which showcases the band's roots in folk, bluegrass, and old time music. Since their first release, Grain Thief has performed throughout the northeast at various music venues and festivals, and currently holds a weekly residency at The Burren in Somerville MA.
The band is releasing a new full-length in the August of 2018. The band teamed up with Alan Day of the band Four Year Strong to produce the album at Wachusett Recording, located in Central Massachusetts. Mulroy's lyrical approach to the album is met equally with songs of loss and regret, and the struggles of the everyday working man with a satirical twist. The inspiration behind Grain Thief's first full length was to fully explore the boundaries of the Americana genre by utilizing the various instrumental talents within the band, incorporating instrumentation such as electric guitar and drums to their acoustic roots.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Discovered On

Listen to Grain Thief now.

Listen to Grain Thief in full in the Spotify app