Border Blasters

Border Blasters


Popular releases


Featuring Border Blasters

Fans also like


37 monthly listeners

The Border Blasters are a Texas-based roots group composed of primary band members Jimmy Ray Harrell and Todd Jagger. The band calls their sound "Cowboy Swing & Hillbilly Blues" with Jagger on mandolin, guitar & vocals; and Harrell on guitar, piano, accordion & vocals. They are often joined by other musicians. The Border Blasters are noted for their easy-going on-stage camaraderie coupled with tight harmonies and raw, rootsy musicianship. Harrell and Jagger started their long musical career together in 1976, playing their first gig at Gruene Hall, and playing consistently in and around Austin, Texas at popular venues such as the Armadillo World Headquarters, The Split Rail, The Broken Spoke, The Skyline Club, Saxon Pub, and many others. In 1988 The Border Blasters recorded their debut album produced by the legendary T.J. "Tiny" McFarland, co-produced and engineered Joe Gracey. The core band of Jagger and Harrell included Keith Carper on upright bass and drummer Phil Johnson. The recording features special guests Kimmie Rhodes, Ponty Bone, Alvin Crow, Danny Levin, Freddie Krc, L.E. McCollough and Drew Castaneda. The album received wide acclaim and airplay across Texas. After re-release in 2008 under the title "Blast From The Past," the album spent 3 months in the Top 10 of the Freeform American Roots music chart, and was voted by reporting radio hosts the #2 Best Album in its category for 2008. The album also reached #24 on the Euro-Americana Chart.