Desperate Youth


  1. 1.
    Another Time - NINA
  2. 2.
    Maze of Lights
  3. 3.
    Another Time
Desperate Youth is the brainchild of Finnish songwriter/producer Oskar Karlsson who, after playing in a band for several years, felt it was time to start a new adventure and create something entirely his own.
Desperate Youth's music is essentially Electronic Pop music with strong influences from the '80s and modern rock.
The debut single Another Time was released on July 5th, 2020, and featured on radio in Finland all through the summer.
A new version of the song featuring NINA, 'The Queen of Synthwave', was released on October 2nd, 2020.
‘Maze of Lights’, releasing 4 December 2020, is the follow-up to his debut single ‘Another Time’ from earlier this year.
Just like the debut, 'Maze of Lights' takes us on a journey into a different time. The synths are back, but instead of drum machines and a saxophone, the soundscape is now dominated by massive acoustic drums and howling guitars.
With Maze of Lights, Desperate Youth shows proof of his versatility. From a catchy synth-pop debut with the Queen of Synthwave, NINA, to an emotional rock ballad that will make your skin tingle.
This is a journey you don't want to miss!
Profile picture by Amanda Marina Photography.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Discovered On

Listen to Desperate Youth now.

Listen to Desperate Youth in full in the Spotify app