This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Field Report


  1. 1.
    Home (Leave the Lights On)
  2. 2.
    Blind Spot
  3. 3.
    I Am Not Waiting Anymore
  4. 4.
    Never Look Back
  5. 5.
    Decision Day
FIELD REPORT, the Wisconsin-based quartet founded and fronted by Chris Porterfield, have announced their new album, SUMMERTIME SONGS, to be released on March 23rd on the newly revitalized Verve Forecast imprint, whose rich catalogue includes artists including Richie Havens, Laura Nyro, Captain Beefheart, and Tim Hardin.
Born in Minnesota, Porterfield moved to Eau Claire, WI, where he was a member of the folk-rock group DeYarmond Edison with Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Phil Cook, Brad Cook, and Joe Westerlund. When the band decided to relocate to North Carolina 2006, Porterfield opted to stay in Wisconsin. After spending the next few years writing and refining his own songs, Field Report was born. Opening slots for artists
such as Counting Crows, Emmylou Harris, Jeff Tweedy and Aimee Mann soon followed. The self-titled debut album was released in 2012, followed by 2014's critically acclaimed MARIGOLDEN.
Field Report's sound centers around the narrative songs of Porterfield (the band name is actually an anagram of his last name) that, at their best, bring to mind the writing on albums like Bob Dylan's Blood on the Tracks, Bruce Springsteen's Nebraska and Paul Simon's Hearts and Bones in their hushed and passionate detail. Barry Clark (bass), Devin Drobka (drums) and Thomas Wincek (founding member of Volcano Choir, keys) round out the lineup, bringing their own unique styles and influences to create a sound that Paste called "dynamic and earnest, familial and familiar."


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Field Report now.

Listen to Field Report in full in the Spotify app