This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Jane Lee Hooker


  1. 1.
    Later On
  2. 2.
    Mannish Boy
  3. 3.
    Bumble Bee
  4. 4.
    I Believe to My Soul
  5. 5.
    Wade in the Water
Jane Lee Hooker isn't the daughter of blues boogie legend John Lee Hooker.
Jane Lee Hooker is a New York City-based quintet intent on carrying on the overamplified traditions of electric blues. To them, velocity, intensity, and chops are what matters: it's what gives their music a defiant attitude even when it's clearly steeped in blues-rock tradition.
Vocalist Dana "Danger" Athens, guitarist Tracy Hightop, guitarist Tina "T-Bone" Gorin, bassist Hail Mary Z, and drummer Melissa "Cool Whip" Houston formed Jane Lee Hooker in 2013. Prior to JLH, the two guitarists were bandmates in Helldorado, and once that band parted ways, Gorin spent time in Bad Wizard and Hightop went to Nashville Pussy. Once those gigs concluded, the pair decided to reunite and first brought in Hail Mary Z, then Houston and Athens. Over the next few years, they gigged regularly, not only in N.Y.C. but out in California and in Texas, earning a reputation that found them sharing bills with a number of rock & roll vets, including the Death Valley Girls and Southside Johnny & the Asbury Jukes. In 2015, Jane Lee Hooker signed with Ruf Records and then delivered their debut, No B!, in the spring of 2016. Two years later the band issued their highly anticipated sophomore effort, Spiritus, again via Ruf Records. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Jane Lee Hooker now.

Listen to Jane Lee Hooker in full in the Spotify app