This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Lay Down Rotten


  1. 1.
    Gospel Of The Wretched
  2. 2.
    Cassandras Haunting
  3. 3.
    Hours Of Infinity
  4. 4.
    Reconquering The Pit
  5. 5.
A German death metal band that originally came to be in 1999 as the solo project of vocalist Daniel Jakobi, Lay Down Rotten quickly expanded to a band within a year, and by November of 2000 had completed work on a four-track demo.
Joined by a trio of musicians prior to the demo sessions, the group made a quick turnaround and was back in the studio in 2001 to put more down on tape. A series of successful shows in 2002 and word-of-mouth reaction from their demo releases served Lay Down Rotten well, and in 2004 the band released its first album, Paralyzed by Fear, on Remission Records. A German tour followed soon after, and then Lay Down Rotten opted to expand their muscle by adding a second vocalist, Jost Kleinert. More studio time and more album releases followed -- Cold Constructed, Breeding Insanity -- and before long the band found itself signing a deal with one of the genre's leading independents, Metal Blade. Their first work for the well-respected label, Reconquering the Pit, was released in 2007. The rest of that year was then spent hitting the festival circuit, playing such bucolic gigs as Party-San, Queens of Metal, and Ragnarock. ~ Chris True, Rovi


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Lay Down Rotten now.

Listen to Lay Down Rotten in full in the Spotify app