This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.



  1. 1.
    All for None
  2. 2.
    Slaves to the Ecosphere
  3. 3.
    A Sky Full of Splinters
  4. 4.
    Glacier Castle
  5. 5.
    Into Dust
Råte is a groove/progressive metal band formed in the dark corridors of the University cellars in Ås.
The idea took off in 2016 with guitarists Lars Christian Angell and Stian Rostad being joined by drummer Ole Jørgen Halle and vocalist Eivind Handegard. By 2017 Clay Gouin joined on bass. Råte’s sounds are forged by heavy guitars, driven by intense drummings and underlined by melodic bass lines. This instrumental embrace cements the foundation for hard-hitting, relentless vocals that tread between gutteral growling and atmospheric emotional sequences. The band drags their audiences in with combinations of head-banging riffs, catchy choruses and sonically spacious interludes, before diving back towards a rhytmical doomsday party. Råte takes its diverse inspriations from bands like Lamb of God, Opeth, Metallica, Russian Circles and Dillinger Escape Plan.
With their first single «Slaves to the Ecosphere» released on June 22, 2018, Råte was quick to follow up with the singles «Docta Ignorantia» and «Glacier Castle». On January 17, 2019, Råte released their first EP «Oblivion’s Grasp». 2019 has been a busy year as Råte played multiple shows in Oslo and Ås, establishing themselves as a thrivining upcomer to the Oslo music scene, and by tracking for their upcoming second EP release.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Listen to Råte now.

Listen to Råte in full in the Spotify app