Popular releases


Singles and EPs

Featuring Masterplan

Fans also like

Appears On


108,585 monthly listeners

German power metal supergroup Masterplan was founded in 2002 by Ark singer Jorn Lande, guitarist Roland Grapow, drummer Ulli Kusch (both ex-Helloween), former Iron Saviour bassist Jan S. Eckert, and keyboard player Axel Mackenrott. Shortly after forming, the group issued a five-track EP titled Enlighten Me, then followed it with their eponymous, Andy Sneap-produced full-length debut in 2003; both were supported by European tour dates with Hammerfall. The group's sophomore outing, Aeronautics, arrived in 2005 via AFM Records, and was followed in 2007 by MK II, which featured a new lineup that included former Riot vocalist Mike DiMeo and new drummer Mike Terrana. 2010's Time to Be King marked the return of co-founder Jorn Lande on vocals, though he, along with Eckert and Terrana, would leave the fold shortly after the LP's release. For the band's fifth full-length, 2013's Novum Initium, Grapow and Mackenrott (the group's last remaining original members) brought in Stratovarius bassist Jari Kainulainen, Cradle of Filth drummer Martin Škaroupka, and At Vance vocalist Rick Altzi. 2017s Pumpkings featured re-recordings of songs written by Grapow from the time he played with Helloween. ~ James Christopher Monger, Rovi