The Plaster Cramp

The Plaster Cramp


Popular releases


Artist Playlists


7 monthly listeners

From New York City, The Plaster Cramp incorporates elements of krautrock, post-punk, and minimalist techno -- making use of electronic sounds, sampling, improvisation, and surrealist techniques like exquisite corpse and cut-up. A self-titled debut was released in October 2016. In April 2018, the band began broadcasting a weekly, hour-long, improvised and experimental live music performance show on Radio Free Brooklyn called Improbable Confetti. Their second release, A History of Rome in Five Pages, followed later in the year. The name, The Plaster Cramp, comes from 'The Library of Babel' -- a short story by Argentine author Jorge Luis Borges. Band members John Frazier, Mason Brown, and Matthew Talmage first worked together in the indie-folk rock act Not Waving but Drowning.