Guitarist and composer Jonny Phillip’s Oriole features a unique set of musicians chosen for their musical openness, empathetic playing and ability to assimilate folkloric styles into a unified contemporary sound.
First formed in 2004 their members represent something of a F-IRE super group, albeit one whose sound is a million miles from the left-field jazz often associated with the ground breaking collective of which they are associated.
Oriole’s first two albums Song for the Sleeping – 2005 and Migration 2006 were released to critical success, with elements of South American folklore, art rock and rich cinematic tapestries sitting together naturally. The combination of these elements is in part what makes Oriole’s sound so powerful and effecting.
On Oriole’s recently released third album Every New Day you can almost feel the sun passing overhead as Oriole undertakes a musical journey through parched landscapes influenced by the Iberian peninsular, where their composer spent the last few years performing with Spanish, Portuguese and Cuban musicians.
“Like Polar Bear at carnival time”. Jazzwise
Guitar – Jonny Phillips
Sax – Ingrid Laubrock
Sax – Idris Rahman
Cello – Ben Davis
Keys – Nick Ramm
Drums – Seb Rochford
Bass – Ruth Goller.
Percussion – Adriano Adewale


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Listen to Oriole now.

Listen to Oriole in full in the Spotify app