This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.



  1. 1.
    All Night
  2. 2.
    In My Head
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
    I'm Not Dead
  5. 5.
    On My Own
Pronunciation [huh-why]
1. HAWAI is a band not a state. (Noun)
2. From Southern California, Orange County to be exact. (Preposition)
3. Makes sun-kissed alternative music that feels alive. (Verb)
4. Here’s the story so far… (Bio)
Behind every band there’s a longtime bond.
HAWAI began to attract national attention by landing multiple tracks on the Hype Machine charts and signing to Antler Records in 2016. However, their musical union can actually be traced back to when Jake Pappas [vocals, guitar], Jesse Dorman [drums], and Jared Slaybaugh [bass, vocals] first started jamming together as young teenagers in their native Orange County. Countless gigs would follow as they sharpened their chops. Eventually forming their original band J. Thoven and adding Matt Gillen [keyboards, synth] to the fold, the boys commenced work on a proper EP in 2015.
A certain revelation encouraged by producer Lars Stalfors [Cold War Kids, Deap Vally] would evolve both their style and name…
Underneath the beachy gusts of guitars and keys, shimmering soul, and iridescent hooks, HAWAI’s island houses an inspiring message.


Related Artists

Listen to HAWAI now.

Listen to HAWAI in full in the Spotify app