Franky Rousseau


  1. 1.
    Full Moon - Dominic Mekky,
  2. 2.
    Standing By - Dominic Mekky,
  3. 3.
    Silence - Dominic Mekky,
  4. 4.
    Postlude - Dominic Mekky,
  5. 5.
    Opening - Dominic Mekky,
Franky Rousseau is a Brooklyn-based composer, arranger, producer, and guitarist. He has worked extensively with large jazz ensembles across North America, Europe, and Japan.
As a leader, he released "Hope" in 2012, written for the pianist Austin Peralta. He has collaborated with Aaron Parks, Ben van Gelder, Arthur Hnatek, and J.J. Wright, among others. He has has produced a number of records, most notably Emma Frank's "Come Back" and "Ocean Av", as well as Brad Cheeseman’s Juno-nominated “A Tide Turns”.
Along with Dominic Mekky, he wrote a multimedia music drama entitled “April”, which tells the story of a singer in her early thirties who is irreparably losing her hearing, and the ensuing toll this takes on her and her two close, but unhealthy, relationships.
He has written concert music, notably the score "êtres à lacer" for the Montréal-based dance ensemble Collision Collective, "After a thunder..." for the University of Notre Dame Folk Choir, and "I.Y.W.W.M.P" and "Hikari" for the Keio Light Music Society.
He has worked for Chris Thile, Gabriel Kahane, Philip Glass, Fred Hersch, Nico Muhly, and Gabriel Witcher, among others. He currently handles charts and arrangements for American Public Media's "Live From Here with Chris Thile". He has worked on various orchestral projects involving the music of Andrew Bird, Jónsi, Kanye West, Rhiannon Giddens, John Luther Adams, among others.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Listen to Franky Rousseau now.

Listen to Franky Rousseau in full in the Spotify app