This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Gretchen's Wheel


  1. 1.
    Better in the Dark
  2. 2.
    Blank Slate
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
    Left Turn
  5. 5.
    Younger Every Year
Lindsay Murray’s indie-pop solo project Gretchen’s Wheel returns with her fourth full-length release, Black Box Theory.
The album builds upon the strengths on 2017’s Sad Scientist and will be released on the Futureman Records label on June 15, 2018 (June 1 on Bandcamp only).
Black Box Theory joined Murray with previous collaborator Nick Bertling on a 10-song collection that blends Murray’s clear voice with her aggressive, energetic power-pop guitar attack. Murray produced and recorded the songs in her home studio near Nashville, TN, and Bertling played drums and mixed the album.
Murray’s songwriting draws upon classic pop and rock sounds without ever becoming an exercise in retro. Black Box Theory continues the confident study in contrasts that has endeared Gretchen’s Wheel to audiences. Razor-edged guitars drive the album’s opening salvo, “Untethered,” as sweetly sung vocal harmonies float above. A bouncy rhythm underscores the melancholic sentiments of “The Maze.” The contemplative, album-closing “A Tourist” culminates with slow-burn distorted guitars.
Taking into account the upcoming album Black Box Theory, Murray has recorded four full-length albums with collaborators such as Ken Stringfellow (The Posies, Big Star) and Ira Elliot (Nada Surf). Gretchen’s Wheel also contributed a track to the recent Matthew Sweet tribute collection released by Futureman Records, Altered Sweet.<br>


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Related Artists

Listen to Gretchen's Wheel now.

Listen to Gretchen's Wheel in full in the Spotify app