This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Oil Boom


  1. 1.
    Delta Rice
  2. 2.
    The Great American Shakedown
  3. 3.
    45 Revolutions Per Minute
  4. 4.
    One-Time Used-to-Be
  5. 5.
    Ball O' Fire
Dallas/Fort Worth, TX – September 6, 2017 – Oil Boom is set to release their new full-length album
Terribility on October 20th via Dreamy Life Records. Produced by Grammy Award-winning
producer Jordan Richardson (Ben Harper, Charlie Musselwhite, Quaker City Night Hawks), Terribility
is a 10-song LP of psych-leaning, wisecracking rock ’n roll. For more information, please visit:
Ever hear one of those canonical classic rock guitar solos and thought, “I wonder if that riff made the
engineer laugh a little?” The dudes in Oil Boom crack up over that stuff all the time, and then they turn
those jokes about Joe Perry hot lixx and Robert Plant blues-ball moans into songs. It’s classic rock
deconstruction in the vein of Ween, or at least Weezer. Or, put another way: Oil Boom makes rock ’n
roll inspired by the all-time greats, but instead of worshipping at the church of St. Mick and St. Keef,
they sleep in on Sunday (especially if they stayed up late listening to Sabbath).
Oil Boom is: Ryan Taylor (guitar/vocals), Steve Steward (bass/background vocals), Dugan Connors
(drums/background vocals), Zach Edwards (guitar). The band’s 6-song debut EP Black Waxy was
recorded in 2011 with Stuart Sikes (Loretta Lynn, The Walkmen), and quickly followed by Gold Yeller,
their second color-themed, 6-song EP in 2012. Its lead single, “The Great American Shakedown” was
added to the rotation of NPR stations and appeared on the soundtracks to The Vampire Diaries, If I
Stay, Freeheld and Grandma. The band spent a couple years playing around Texas and the Midwest
while working on songs for their next release, recording a full-length in 2014 called Red Metal. The
album continued their streak of colorful titles and soundtrack success, with “45 Revolutions Per
Minute”, “Delta Rice” and “Ball O’ Fire” placed in films/TV shows such as Manchester By The Sea,
Rectify, Lucifer, and Elementary.
Since Red Metal’s release, Oil Boom has spent the intervening years on the road with heavyweights
like Social Distortion and the Toadies, and at home opening for Johnny Marr and The Hold
Steady. Their highly anticipated upcoming full-length album Terribility is set to release on October 20,


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Oil Boom now.

Listen to Oil Boom in full in the Spotify app