This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Hackensaw Boys


  1. 1.
    Don't Bet Against Me
  2. 2.
    Restaurant Girl
  3. 3.
    Oh, Girl
  4. 4.
    Sun's Work Undone
  5. 5.
    Kiss You Down There
On the band's 20th anniversary, stalwart roots collective Hackensaw Boys present a fresh batch of original songs with their new EP A Fireproof House of Sunshine.
Operating more as a collective than a band, Hackensaw Boys were around before the O Brother, Where Art Thou? (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) craze kickstarted Americana, back in the old alt-country days. For the ever-evolving string band, the 5-song collection showcases their graceful maturation and feels more timeless than timely, in no small part due to frontman David Sickmen's most deeply cultivated songwriting to date. Retreating to the Charlottesville studio of co-producer Rob Evans (Dave Matthews Band), Hackensaw Boys cut the new EP in just four days. Energized by the band's new fiddler (Caleb Powers), upright bassist (Chris Stevens), and percussionist/charismo player (Beau Dodson), A Fireproof House of Sunshine keeps Hackensaw Boys' classic punk-fueled roots sound at the center. Yet here the group further explores within genre, from the rollicking contemporary Americana of "Late Night Kitchen" and "Pass Unloving Eyes" to the country-blues working class anthem "Factory Blues," all while maintaining a toe-tapping pop sensibility. A Fireproof House of Sunshine opens the curtain on a new era for Hackensaw Boys, who continually prove capable of turning universal life experiences into music that fosters togetherness, community, and understanding.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Hackensaw Boys now.

Listen to Hackensaw Boys in full in the Spotify app