This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Animal Sun


  1. 1.
    Girl in Blue
  2. 2.
    Without You
  3. 3.
    Still Believe
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
Formed in 2015 and lead by two brothers; vocalist/songwriter Steven Blake and drummer William Alton originally cut their teeth playing in small clubs up and down the east coast.
The name Animal Sun was in dedication to their late friend and musical compadre James Sun, who’s life was tragically cut short in 2011.
By late 2017, Animal Sun had begun appearing all over local radio and opening for noteworthy acts such as The Frights, (Epitaph) as well as minor touring throughout the region. After establishing a dedicated fanbase, the boys decided to move to Los Angeles, California where they would meet current keyboardist/percussionist Tyler DeCastro and bass player Adam Gardner. Together, they to began production with Aaron “Zeus” Zepeda and Grammy award-winning engineer Robert Margouleff.
Their lead single "Girl in Blue" was released on June 20th, 2019, and quickly made its way onto renowned alternative stations such as idobi radio and KROQ "Locals Only", even snagging the #5 spot for multiple weeks in a row. Picking up momentum quickly, the band released their debut EP “Beginnings” and a music video for “Girl in Blue” at the end of summer 2019. The immediate success allowed Animal Sun to begin playing to packed rooms all over, including most recently the legendary Troubadour. On April 26th the band released another single titled “Without You’ followed by ‘Still Believe’ featured in the award-winning, music magazine; American Songwriter.

Debut record 2021.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Related Artists

Listen to Animal Sun now.

Listen to Animal Sun in full in the Spotify app