This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Instant Species


  1. 1.
    In Moscow somewhere
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    The Devil's hand
  4. 4.
    Surfin' Dave
  5. 5.
    Work 'till you drop
Back in 1997, from the embers of early musical forays, Instant Species was born. Rick Garnett, Bob Spencer, Stuart Criddle and the late Steve Downs began searching for a sound that would satisfy all concerned.
Within a year they mustered their first album “Just Add Water” to mixed reviews. There was promise but not much polish. In 1998 the band released “Uppers and Downers”. Critics and fans took notice. Steve Downs left the band, replaced by Nick Hynes. Album number three, “3 Star” featured the single “Home Alone” which garnered radio play. Album number four “Meat Pie Argument” set the tone for the second great age of Instant Species. Gigs splattered across the map before the arrival of the bands most cited album, the classic “Plan E”. With a new found confidence in their writing and sound, the band set about challenging matters with their first self recorded release, the sixth long player in the collection “Robert the Bruce’s Spider”. The album spawned the most successful single to date “Hombrecide” which featured across the airwaves of BBC 6 Music and brought about the bands only BBC session. Album number seven “Miraculous Curative Compound”, featured songs all under 2 minutes in length. In 2012, album number eight arrived in the shape of the more mature sounding “This Rome” and clearly showed the Species had lost none of their creative spark. 2018 saw the arrival of the bands long awaited ninth album “Hills”. Another Instant Species masterpiece.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Related Artists

Listen to Instant Species now.

Listen to Instant Species in full in the Spotify app