This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Soft March


  1. 1.
    The Friendly Beasts
  2. 2.
    Nowhere Else but Here
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
Although 'Farewell Party' is an odd title for a debut album, it sums up the emotions within Soft March's songs.
"These are happy songs about sad things," says Joel Kleine, bass player and co-writer along with vocalist/guitarist Paul Jensen. "A farewell party is that celebration of something changing, not necessarily good or welcome, but a way to deal with those changes."
The songs focus on the sadness of departure, but are often delivered through upbeat, hook-laden tunes. The dynamics range from the quiet and lonesome title track to the singalong rock of "Ain't Happy" and "Nowhere Else But Here". Throughout the album, the usual folk-rock ingredients of vocals, guitar, bass and drums are sprinkled with violin, accordion and glockenspiel.
Soft March started as a songwriting partnership between Kleine and Jensen. In 2013, they penned their first tune, "QEII" for ATB's All Alberta Songwriting contest. The song was chosen by a jury as a finalist from more than 130 entries. Kleine and Jensen continued writing songs and began performing as a folk duo in 2016. They met drummer Tanner Onciul at an open mic and the heart of Soft March was formed. Along with multi-instrumentalists Rachel Gleddie and Grace Miazga, the harmonies and arrangements evolve from song to song. Since forming in summer 2016, they’ve had the honour of opening for touring acts such as Skydiggers, The Wilderness of Manitoba, Jon and Roy and Australia's Daniel Champagne.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen



Listen to Soft March now.

Listen to Soft March in full in the Spotify app