This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Future Romance


  1. 1.
Future Romance is the brainchild of singer/songwriter Bec Birchall, a long-time member of the Melbourne and Geelong music scenes on guitar / keys / vocals alongside sister Claire Birchall in indie-rock outfits Paper Planes, and more recently The Phantom Hitchhikers.
Checking into Melbourne’s iconic Soundpark Studios in 2019, Birchall teamed up with Max Kensington (guitar), and longtime collaborators Jarrod Brown (drums) and Mark Brant (bass) to lay down an assured, inspired debut to be released in 2020. 
For now, debut single 'Want-You' is the first blush of Future Romance, a straight-shooting, up-tempo banger with 80s synth pop hooks, shredding guitar and a no-holds-barred view of modern romance. Described by frontwoman Bec Birchall as…‘an honesty pill washed down with a healthy dose of pop’, 'Want-You' is a paean to being a brave, unapolagetically single woman in 2020. “I’m gonna be the best that I can be / And I’m gonna do it just for me,” Birchall sings, summing up our moment nicely.
Future Romance is worth the wait.


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Listen to Future Romance now.

Listen to Future Romance in full in the Spotify app