This browser doesn't support Spotify Web Player. Switch browsers or download Spotify for your desktop.

Summer Fiction


  1. 1.
    Throw Your Arms Around Me
  2. 2.
  3. 3.
    She's Bound to Get Hurt
  4. 4.
    By the Sea
  5. 5.
    It's Getting Dark
From his early career as a low-fi chamber pop artist to his current project Summer Fiction, Bill Ricchini has been releasing music to critical acclaim for well over a decade.
Summer Fiction's self-titled debut, released in 2010, featured the singles "Chandeliers" and "Throw Your Arms Around Me" making several best of the year lists and garnering praise from Vogue, New York Magazine and airplay from WXPN and KCRW for it's mix of orchestrated pop and folk intimacy. That year, Ricchini signed with Rough Trade publishing and his music was featured in the hit film The Fault in Our Stars.
In 2015, Ricchini released the follow-up Himalaya. SPIN called the album, "Brian Wilson melodic levity meets Johnny Marr guitar jangle, effortlessly engaging.” Recorded in the UK at Manchester’s Eve Studios it features “the Big Star meets The La’s power pop of “Perfume Paper,” the Pet Sounds carousel of “Lauren Lorraine,” and the Costello meets Bacharach balladry of "Religion of Mine.” In the tradition of great pop tune smiths, Ricchini's songs examine ways of the human heart with honesty, elegance and hooks galore.
“Charmingly catchy heartache meets sun-kissed disenchantment.” – The Philadelphia Inquirer
“Wistfully demur on the surface, delving into matters of the heart with an icy pair of forceps, leaving all manner of collateral damage in its wake. ” – Magnet
“Brilliant 60′s-esque AM pop.” – New York Magazine
“Lovely, bookish songs.” – Vogue
“World-weary, yet heartwarming.” – NPR


Monthly Listeners



Where people listen


Discovered On

Related Artists

Listen to Summer Fiction now.

Listen to Summer Fiction in full in the Spotify app